How to apply with FEMA for Disaster Assistance

October 22, 2018
Carrie Meier 608-444-4827
County Executive

Presidential Declaration FEMA – 4402 - DR

How to Apply for Individual and Business Assistance

On October 18, 2018, President Trump granted a Major Disaster Declaration for portions of the State of Wisconsin including Dane County. This allows Federal recovery programs to help people and communities who suffered damage from the storms and flooding that occurred between August 17th and September 14th, 2018.

Dane County Executive Joe Parisi encourages residents and businesses to apply for federal flooding assistance by registering with FEMA. Anyone who has home or business damage related to storm/flood will need to register with FEMA even if they already reported damages to Dane County Emergency Management and/or 211.

There are three ways to apply for FEMA funding:

1. Call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA)

2. Register online and click on "Enter your city and State or Zip Code to see if your area has been declared" and then chose apply ONLINE

3. Go to the Disaster Recovery Center when opened. This location will be heavily advertised once it is established. Monitor media and the County website for more information

Agricultural losses are to be reported to the Farm Services Agency at 608-355-4420.

The Small Business Administration will also be a part of the process and working with homeowners, nonprofits and businesses whose property sustained damages.