County Board Elects Officers

April 20, 2016
County Board Chair Sharon Corrigan, 608.333.2285
County Board

Corrigan Wins Second Term as Chair; Pertl, Stubbs Join Leadership


County Board Chair Sharon Corrigan was elected to a second term as Chair of the Dane County Board of Supervisors at the Board’s biennial organizational meeting Tuesday.


Judge Juan Colas administered the oath of office to all Supervisors, including newcomers Haley Young, representing the UW campus area; Richard Kilmer, representing Madison’s near west and near south sides; and Danielle Williams, representing the Cottage Grove area.


“Decisions we make really have impact on the lives of people in the county,” Corrigan said in accepting the second term. “I’m proud to serve with all of you. We have a hallmark of what we do, doing things innovatively and achieving good government. We don’t always agree. We don’t all vote the same way. But we’ve each felt that we were working toward the common good and trying to improve the quality of life for people in Dane County.”


Supervisor Jeff Pertl was elected First Vice Chair. “He’s so eloquent,” said former First Vice Chair Carousel Bayrd in nominating Pertl. “He’s succinct, he’s professional, he’s thoughtful. I think we will be wonderfully served with him as our First Vice Chair.”


Supervisor Shelia Stubbs was elected Second Vice Chair.  Supervisor Mary Kolar, in nominating Stubbs, called her “a leader who leads from the heart.”


Supervisors Nick Zweifel and Maureen McCarville were re-elected as Sergeants at Arms. 


Corrigan will announce committee appointments later this week.