Dane County Regional Airport Earns Green Building Award

September 14, 2007
Sharyn Wisniewski (608) 661-6485

Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk today (09/13/07) accepted a Wisconsin Sustainability & Energy Efficiency Leadership Award (SE2) on behalf of the Dane County Regional Airport’s terminal renovation and expansion project, which was completed in 2006. The award was presented during an Awards Lunch attended by 700 people from Wisconsin and 18 other states attending the Greening the Heartland/SE2 Conference at Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center. The judges wrote, “From the incorporation of the existing building and the reuse of 97 percent of demolition and site development waste to the use of locally-made construction products, low VOC materials and finishes, and products with high recycled content, they did just about everything a sustainable project should do. And very attractively, to boot.” “This award shows it’s possible to build a green building that is both incredibly beautiful and conserves our natural resources,” said Falk. “We’re committed to responsible design and construction practices.” This is the third award the new airport terminal building has received. The airport also received two environmental awards for its construction land use practices this year. For the last four years, six professional organizations and associations and the energy efficiency program in the state (AIA Wisconsin, Energy Center of Wisconsin, ASHRAE--Wisconsin Section, Illuminating Engineering Society--Milwaukee Section, Wisconsin Green Building Alliance, IFMA--Wisconsin Section, and Focus on Energy) have worked together to create this award program, which recognizes leadership in energy efficient and sustainable design, construction and operation of Wisconsin commercial and other non-residential buildings. The goal of the award is to encourage greater collaboration among owners, designers, builders, and operators by highlighting the value of projects that enhance the built environment. The airport’s award was one of eight statewide awards handed out by the organization Thursday. # # #