June 15, 2021
County Board Chair Analiese Eicher, (608) 571-6823
County Board

Dane County Board Chair Analiese Eicher announced appointments to the Dane County Broadband Task Force today.


The task force will work over the next year to collect data, research and explore various funding mechanisms, partner with stakeholders to identify where broadband access is and is not, explore alternative solutions, and make recommendations to the County Board on the role of Dane County in facilitating the expansion of broadband services to residents.


"We have a lot of work to do to make sure all residents of the County, regardless of where they live, have reliable, affordable internet access," said County Board Chair Analiese Eicher. "This task force is an important step in bringing a wide variety of voices to the table to move the needle on this issue."


The 15-member task force includes representatives from a variety of backgrounds including but not limited to education, healthcare, town, city, and village governments.


"I’m eager to begin this important work. We have a talented group of people with a variety of expertise that will help increase access to broadband for all in Dane County," said County Board Supervisor Kate McGinnity (District 37).


The task force will be holding their first monthly meeting in the coming weeks. When scheduled, the agenda will be found on the County’s Legislative Information Center.


The appointments are identified below:

County Board Chair Appointments


Public Works and Transportation Committee Member

Supervisor Ratcliff

Public Works and Transportation Committee Member

Supervisor Ripp

UW Extension Committee Member

Supervisor McGinnity

1 representative from a healthcare provider in Dane County

Bill Dickmeyer, Regional Service Manager – IT

UnityPoint Health- Meriter

1 representative from a school district in Dane County

Michelle Jensen, Deerfield Administrator

1 individual with an economic and/or agricultural perspective

To be named at a later date

1 representative from a Town Board

Deana Zentner, Chair of Town of Rutland

1 representative from Dane County senior focal point

Joyce Tikalsky, Stoughton Area Senior Center’s Commission on Aging and Stoughton City Council Alderperson

1 representative from an internet/broadband provider

Andrew Hoyos, Hoyos Consulting

1 representative from a youth community-based organization

Shelby Christie, Marketing and Communication Manager, Boys and Girls Club of Dane County

2 at-large members

James Danky

2 at-large members

Peter Weil


Identified by other authorities

Dane County Executive or designee

Todd Violante, Dane County Planning and Development Director

President of the Dane County Towns Association (DCTA), or their designee

Renee Lauber

President of the Dane County Cities and Villages Association, or their designee

President Bob Wipperfurth