Special Election To Be Set for District 19 County Supervisory Seat

May 03, 2021
County Board Chair Analiese Eicher (608) 571-6823 or County Clerk Scott McDonell (608) 266-4121
County Board

Dane County Board Chair Analiese Eicher today announced that a special election for Dane County Board of Supervisors District 19, which includes wards in the City of Sun Prairie, will be set by the County Board for Tuesday, July 13, 2021, to replace Supervisor Teran Peterson who resigned from the Board on April 30, 2021.


Once the County Board orders a special election at their meeting on Thursday evening, candidates may begin circulating nomination papers on Friday, May 7, 2021 and must file those papers, with at least 50 but not more than 200 valid signatures, by 5 pm on Friday, May 21, 2021. All forms for potential candidates are available from the Office of the County Clerk on their website: https://clerk.countyofdane.com/Elections/Run-for-Office. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, interested candidates should contact the Dane County Clerk’s Office at 608-266-4121.


If there are three or more candidates, a special primary will be held on June 15, 2021, with the top two candidates facing off in a general election on July 13, 2021.


District 19 encompasses wards 7-9, and 14-19 in the City of Sun Prairie. A map of the district is available here: https://dcimapapps.countyofdane.com/supervisors/?&entry=20